Missa Brevis Sancti Joannis de Deo (Small Organ Mass), Kyrie. Ho9b. XXII:7

Franz Joseph Haydn
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Classical music
String orchestra
Related scores
Sweet Little Suite for Wind Quintet, The Foggy, Foggy Dew. for Piano, Winter Nocturn over a Frozen Pond, The Foggy, Foggy Dew. For Chamber Orchestra, The bonnie, bonnie banks o’ Loch Lomond, Air on the G string, All Through the Night for Harp and Clarinet, Alla Marcia in D Major (Slippin' the Sloop) for Concert Orchestra, Alla Marcia in D Major (Slippin' the Sloop) for Piano, Ambiance No. 1 in E Major for solo violin and woodwind, Ambiance Number 4: A Ride in the Park in A Major - for Solo violin and woodwind trio., Ambiance Number 3 in D flat Major - for solo violin and woodwind trio., April Reverie for Vioin and Piano, Ariadne Musica (1702) - Praludium und Fugue # 8 in E minor, Ariadne Musica (1702) - Praludium und Fugue #14, Ab lydian, Ariadne Musica (1702) Praludium und Fugue #9 F dorian, Ariadne Musica (1702) Prelude und Fugue #2, C# minor, Bourree in A# Minor, Bourree in E Minor for Recorders, Piano and Tambourine, Choir of the Damned, Daffodils. Based on the poem by William Wordsworth, Early one morning, Fantasia on Raymond Overture (1851) Charles Louis Ambroise Thomas (1811-1896), Galapagos EvenSong Tone poem in F# Major, Galapagos EvenSong with Full Choir, Grande Valse Brillante in E flat Major for Clarinet Quintet, Greensleeves, In Derry Vale (The Londonderry Air), John Peel, Lord Lovat's Lament, Organ Prelude in C Major, Partita - Finale, Piangevole Appassionato for Cello and Piano in C sharp Minor, Sonatina for Orchestra, Scarborough Fair, String Quartet No. 1 in C Minor - Movement One, String Quartet One, Movement Four, Allegro in B Major, The Coventry Carol, The Harp that once through Tara's Halls, The Keel Row, The Parsimonious Scholar, The Vicar of Bray, Tropical Rain, Westminster Quarters & Rule Britannia, Four Seasons Madrigal and Gavotte from Ruddigore, Evensong. St Stephen's Elegy, Early one morning, Adagio in Memoriam for Piano and Brahms Lullaby with varients by Peter Dewar-Finch

The missa brevis form was popular in South Germany and Austria in the first part of the eighteenth century. The Missa Brevis Sancti Joannis de Deo is essentially a chamber work for a double quartet of vocalists (eight voices), four or five violins, a cello and a double bass and organ. St. John of God (Joannis de Deo) was Johannes Cuidan (1495-1565), a Portuguese monk who was the patron saint of the Order of the Brothers of Mercy. The brothers ran a famous hospital in Vienna and, as a young man, Haydn often played the organ in the hospital chapel. http://mysite.verizon.net/vze82t9v/osanyc/id37.html

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Peter Dewar-Finch. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Peter Dewar-Finch has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.