Home > Solo instrument > Prelude in E flat minor (Book 1, No 8)

Prelude in E flat minor (Book 1, No 8)

J S Bach
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Keyboards)
Instrumental parts
Not available

Bach's 48 Preludes & Fugues are an essential element of the classical repertoire. They are not, however, all easy to play - even for the accomplished player - and buying a full two volume set when you only want a few pieces can be off-putting. The simpler Preludes are here offered as individual pieces.

Each prelude is open to rich and varied interpretation. As there is minimal editing, the score is clear for any number of variations of dynamics, phrasing and articulation.

This prelude is in the forbidding key of E flat minor, but transposing it into E minor is relatively simple and therefore makes it easier to play.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Andrew Moore. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Andrew Moore has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.