Full details...
page one of anbar:electricity

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

In Philip Pullman�s epic His Dark Materials trilogy the heroine, a girl called Lyra, is born in a universe parallel to ours. In her early years she lives in Jordan College, Oxford before being taken to live in London by Mrs Coulter. This piece aims to portray this parallel, pseudo-industrial London, which is a strange mix of the Dickensian and the post-atomic. Technology has not developed in Lyra�s world as it has in our own and the grand, futuristic buildings of the Magisterium are juxtaposed with zeppelins and Victorian streets.

In Lyra�s world the word for electricity is anbar from which this quartet takes its title. The initial letters of the title (a and e) are the tonal centres of the piece (at concert pitch) and, rather like Lyra and her d�mon, the harmony frequently deviates from these persistently returning due to some unseen and unexplained attraction.

The quartet is in two distinct sections (slow � fast) although the main themes are similar in each. The opening motif hints at the main theme of the fast section (figure E, alto sax) and is more explicitly heard again in the baritone sax at H. The counter subject of this fast section (tenor sax, G) forms an idea for a quasi-fugal exposition at B. A brief recap of each section brings the piece to a close at just under seven and a half minutes in length.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Wind quartet
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of anbar:electricity

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...