Air 6 "Modal Twist" [2000]

Air VI is the fourth in a series of 8 pieces written between 2000 and 2001 exploring the idea of twisting harmonic relationships. My first experiment was to rewrite a Bach prelude swapping all of the chord implications with new ones - it sounded wonky, but kept its shape. The idea arose from a desire to imitate some of the qualities in much of Bach�s music that are so appealing - joy, singularity of focus, purity of emotion. The aim was to develop a language that seeks to reproduce the harmonic pulls of classical cadences while avoiding chords IV and V. The eight pieces use a bizarre circle of not-fifths, each of the 12 keys having a unique combination of unrelated chords and its own peculiar scale. Air VI is in C, and goes through the keys of F# (the acting sub-dominant) and A (the acting dominant). It lasts approximately 4 minutes, exploring each register of the piano, in an almost rhapsodic manner, sounding freely-composed, although of course it is actually very carefully written!!!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by John Pitts INTENSELY PLEASANT MUSIC. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to John Pitts INTENSELY PLEASANT MUSIC has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.