Missa Modalis

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Related scores
Peter Mass (revised 2011), Stand up, friends!, Gloria (from the Missa Modalis), Blessed are those / Beati qui ad cenam, The Spirit of God SATB, Ad Regias Agni Dapes (Easter) Version for SSAA Choir, Advent descant: Lo, he comes, Pater, sanctifica eos in veritate (TTB), Ave verum corpus: Hail to thee (SAB version), Capriol Suite arr. for 6 hands (Bransles), Father, make them holy (TTB), Spiritus Domini super me TTB, The Spirit of God TTB, Ad Regias Agni Dapes (Easter) (TTBB), Advent Entrance Antiphon: Christ our King is coming/Rex noster adveniet Christus, Spiritus Domini super me SATB, I know that river which flows for ever (version with harp & cello), I know that river which flows for ever, Advent Entrance Antiphon: A shoot will spring/Egredietur virga, O sacrum convivium, Fantasia: ’Pange lingua’, Advent Alleluia, I Sing of a Maiden, Mary had a Baby, Advent Entrance Antiphon: The Lord is coming/Veniet Dominus, Tu es Petrus, Advent Psalms (Year B), Alleluia (Gospel Acclamation), Six Little Piano Pieces, Ave verum corpus: Hail to thee! true Body (8 part version), Never Weather-beaten Saile, In paradisum (from Fauré Requiem), Litany of Saints for Ordinations, Advent Entrance Antiphon: To you, my God/Ad te levavi, Beati qui habitant in domo tua, Domine (TTB), Ascension Introit: Men of Galilee, Litany of Saints, Advent Psalms (Year A), Versicles & Responses (1662) for Trebles (S) & Organ, Versicles & Responses (1662) for Trebles (SS) & Organ, Invocations, Tintinnabula (Sonata), Chaconne Mass, Toccata Postlude on 'Veni Creator Spiritus', Godhead here in hiding (Adoro te devote), Beata es, Virgo Maria (TTB) and Salve Regina

The Missa Modalis was originally composed for the Venerable English College, Rome, in Lent, 2008. A Gloria was added in 2010. It uses traditional modes in an attempt to capture something of the simplicity and restraint of Gregorian Chant. In a few places there are simple 3-part optional harmony voice parts. The organ accompaniment is also optional and may be omitted.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Phillip Pennington Harris. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Phillip Pennington Harris has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.