Home > String quartet > Reliquary of Sacred Music - Bach, J.S.- Aria: Gebt mir meinen Jesum wieder - Matthaus - Passion - arr. for Bass Solo & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Reliquary of Sacred Music - Bach, J.S.- Aria: Gebt mir meinen Jesum wieder - Matthaus - Passion - arr. for Bass Solo & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Johann Sebastion Bach
Year of composition
Gerald Manning
St. Matthew: 26, 27.
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Classical music
String quartet
Instrumental parts

BACH � THE PASSION ACCORDING TO ST. MATTHEW (German: Matth�uspassion) (also, Matth�us Passion), BWV 244. (1727) St Matthew�s Gospel (Chapter 26, verse 1 to Chapter 27, verse 66).

Aria: Gebt mir meinen Jesum wieder Give, O give me back my Lord

The final recitative and double chorus portraying the scene and emotions of those left reflecting at the sepulchre provide, arguably the most dramatic choral music ever composed. Bach�s setting of the Passion narrative from St Matthew�s Gospel is one of the landmarks of the entire choral repertoire. The St. Matthew Passion was probably first performed on Good Friday (11 April) 1727 in the Thomaskirche in Leipzig, where Bach was the Kapellmeister. He revised it by 1736, performing it again on March 30, 1736, this time including two organs in the instrumentation. Bach stands alone in this field. His two extant compositions in this form, those �according to Saint Matthew� and �according to St. John,� remain gigantic landmarks to this day. They combine the Oratorio Passion and the Passion Oratorio: the Bible text and the Chorale, and the lyrical aria and the dramatic chorus. Bach, in fact, employs every instrument that is consistent with the spirit of the Passion; and his Passions are great dramatic works, charged throughout with a deep religious sentiment.

In 1879 the English composer Ethel Smyth attended a performance of the St Matthew Passion, given in Bach's own church, St Thomas's, Leipzig. She later recalled the impression it made on her: �I despair of giving an idea of the devoutness of the audience … It was not only that the church seemed flooded with the living presence of Bach, but you felt as if the Passion itself, in that heart-rending, consoling portrayal, was being lived through as at no other moment of their lives by every soul in the vast congregation.�

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Gerald Manning. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.