Home > Solo instrument + piano > 5. Epilogue from Suite 'The Tempest'

5. Epilogue from Suite 'The Tempest'

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
1 minute
Modern classical music
Solo instrument + piano (Alto Saxophone)

This is the final piece in my suite of music from the incidental music to Shakespeare's 'The Tempest". The other pieces can be played in pretty much any order or singly, but this one really goes at the end and would probably not be played on its own. There are some pretty strange harmonies in this one (deliberate!) so look out for false relations and clashes of mood. The music is meant to reflect the strangeness of the play and the happy but mysterious ending. Use plenty of rubato and sustain when playing this. The complete suite comprises 5 pieces.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Mike Halliday. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Mike Halliday has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.