Wind Quartet - Serenata

Full details...
page one of Wind Quartet - Serenata

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This quartet began its life in about 1990. It has been one of those pieces that kept getting put on the shelf as other things came along.

After this long gestation, I am quite surprised to find that I still like it.

It begins with a slow introduction that contains the main theme in minims. At letter A, the theme takes on its intended waltz-like quality. the wistful minor key shapes the mood throughout. The main developmental ideas take the form of different treatments of parts of the theme (though the theme remains unbroken throughout) which explore some of the melodic and harmonic implications of the melodic line.

The final section is a reprise of the opening idea, but in an altered form.

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Wind quartet
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Wind Quartet - Serenata

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...