’On the Plantation’

Arnoldo Sartorio
Biljana Krstic
Full details...
page one of ’On the Plantation’

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Arnoldo Sartorio, born on Frankfurt in 1853, was a extremely prolific composer of salon pieces for piano. He is hardly known today, but 100 years ago he was remembered for his Jagdszenen (Hunting Scenes) Op 173, Melodische Etuden (Melodic Studies) Op 214, Bilder aus der Maerchenwelt (Pictures from the Fairy World) op. 205 and Aus der Jugendzeit (From Youth) op. 233. Beside these he composed many pieces for teaching purposes.

Biljana arranged this especially jaunty little tune for piano duet, and it’s another hot favourite amongst her students at the Stankovic Music School in Belgrade, Serbia. Sartorio’s piece first appeared in 1914, under the title of Burlesque Intermezzo - Negertanz, a title which would not be acceptable in today’s political climate of course. The sound of the banjo is definitely present in the writing, I think!

For all the latest information on Bilja, her teaching, and current compositions, please visit her website.

Score ID
Arnoldo Sartorio
Year of composition
Biljana Krstic
Easy (Grades 1-3)
3 minutes
Duet of Pianos
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for ’On the Plantation’

Reviews of ’On the Plantation’

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...