Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores

This piece was sketched between January and March 2008, with the final writing and orchestration being done over the Easter.

As a piece Ratchet takes West African drumming (which I have been studying) as its point of departure - not only does it use two Djembes either side of the main ensemble, but also uses the idea of call and response between solo and groups of instruments, and organises the music into discrete blocks of material. This said, the manner in which the instruments and material are handled is entirely of my own design, with no attempt at trying to emulate African drumming in the piece.

All of the music is derived from the first melodic phrase that is heard in the viola. There is a central improvisatory section for the Djembes - this is left unwritten, as I want the drummers to have their own input into how the material is developed.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Alistair Justice. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Alistair Justice has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.