Prelude to the Dawn

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

*PARTS COMING SOON - If required sooner, please email* Written as part of my MA portfolio at the University of Salford The title Prelude to the Dawn invokes many programmatic ideas, but, in a similar way to Voyage to Colchis, the piece is not a vehicle for any pre-conceived story. The gradual shift from harmonically unrestricted material to more �regulated� music represents, for me, a change from dark to light in the broadest possible terms; realising the image of the unhurried change from night to day, hence the title of the piece. When composing the music, I worked hard at trying to restrict my melodic material, and therefore the piece takes on a symphonic role, where all following material relates back in some way to music heard in the opening minute or so of the piece. The principal thematic ideas in the piece are the falling motifs, as heard at figure 1 aswell as the phrase which follows, including the rising major seventh. Clearly, as the piece goes on, these links become more and more �disguised�, but most, if not all, of the material in the piece can be found to be related. One small point of interest is the scale used for the fugue section, which starts at figure 5. I have created here what I have called a �balanced� or �mirror� scale, which is built in the following way; semitone, tone, minor third, minor third, tone, semitone making a �harmonic mirror� from the central note; which in the first exposition of the scale is A flat. Using the notes of this scale, I then built �tonic and dominant� functions into the triads (A flat minor and F diminished) that were created, and these chords act in a conventional way to this end, though obviously away from the normal �rules� of fugue writing. I feel the piece could at some point in the future form the opening movement of a symphony, with some extension where appropriate, although for now it functions as an individual concert work; a short prelude.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Iain McKnight. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Iain McKnight has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.