Cantata No. 78: Jesus By Thy Cross and Passion

J. S. Bach
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
25 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

The Bach Cantata 78, "Jesu der du meine seele", while quite popular has never been available in a practical performing edition for modern protestant worship. Keyboard accompaniments tend to be clumsy literal transcriptions of orchestral parts, and Bach's original text has provides significant theological issues for use in worship in many mainline protestant churches. I have tried to resolve this issue in this edition. The text used for Movements 1 & 2 are from an anonymous 19th century source. The texts for the two recitatives and arias are original and closely follow the original German. The closing chorale is provided with three stanzas, two from 19th century translations of Rist's hymn, and a third stanza written by me for this edition.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Stanley R. McDaniel. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Stanley R. McDaniel has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.