Air on The G String, from the Suite No. 3 in D for Vibraphone & Keyboard

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750) Edited and arranged by Keith Terrett
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument + piano (Vibraphone)
Instrumental parts

An arrangement for Vibraphone or any tuned percussion instrument, such as Marimba or even Xylophone; of J.S.Bach’s Air on the G String.

You could try playing the melody in its original form the first time; and then play my ornamented version on the repeat if you wish.

A very nice arrangement for your next concert, or just to add a new work to your repertoire.

There is an optional drum set part available on request, and if you wish add a string bass, and replace the Piano with a Harpsichord for a more Baroque feel.

My thanks are extended to Ian Mackpherson for his assistance with the drum set part.

Visit Ian’s webpage for more information on his excellent drum school and excellent drum tutor books in

More of my Mallet percussion and Symphonic band music can be found published in Holland

For an excellent version for Brass Quartet,

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Keith Terrett. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Keith Terrett has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.