Home > Choir > Dam il tuo cor, che non altrond i' vivo!

Dam il tuo cor, che non altrond i' vivo!

Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

The below translation of the above madrigal text is by Charles Marshall from 'English Translations of Monteverdi's Fourth Book of Madrigals' at http://marshall.charles.googlepages.com

She came to me in the simple dress of love, and her eyes said, Lie with me for I am beautiful; the breeze put down its leaves and listened, clouds slowed, the evening blushed. She grasped my chest then snatched her hand away whereupon that sullen child, my self, turned towards her face which seemed to say, Give me your heart, I live for nothing else! Hearing this, my heart, all needy, rushed towards that source of loveliness and light so that I gasped and cried out, Desperate and without heart, who now will give me life? Bringing me gently to her breasts she sighing whispered, I will, for I am your heart.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Curtis Schweitzer. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Curtis Schweitzer has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.