A New Beginning

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Modern classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts
Not available

Program notes written by James Davis: "A New Beginning was commissioned by the Mt. Morris Bands. This very challenging work honors the lives of Ken Galbreath and Dennis Anderson, long time music teachers, mentors, and friends in the Mt. Morris School District.

The piece begins triumphantly with brass fanfares and a majestic precussion accompaniment. Despite several tempo changes, this new work for Concert Band never stops churning. Hard at work throughout, moving lines keep the pulse steady. Budding composer, Andrew Neer, captures the life of the music director in A New Beginning. Listeners can sense the urgency, work ethic, determination, and long term vision both Galbreath and Anderson shared amidst the turmoil and tribulations public school teaching, music, and life outside school walls challenged these role models with.

On several occasions Neer's Beginning reveals the pain and hardship all music directors try to mask while leading the youth to an understanding of art and imagination, of wonder and excitement.

This piece is a beautiful tribute to these two Mt. Morris legends. The title A New Beginning is as much about Galbreath and Anderson as it is about 'us.' Now 'we' carry their torch and it is 'our' job to share the joy of music with those around us…now without out beloved teachers walking beside us, but rather, watching over us."

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Andrew Lee Neer. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Andrew Lee Neer has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.