Turn Ye To Me - (Scottish Airs)

Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Concert band / wind band
Instrumental parts
Not available

Turn Ye To Me comprises four Scottish Airs. First there is the beautiful and plaintive Hebridean tune "Turn Ye To Me." Next is Caller Herrin which was composed by Nathaniel Gow (1763-1831). This tune is said to reflect the cries of fishmongers in Edinburgh selling their fresh herring caught in the nearby Forth whilst the bells of St. Andrew's Church, George Street are pealing. Thirdly is A Hundred Pipers after which, briefly and slowly, appears the haunting "Flowers of the Forest." Finally, the tune "Turn Yet to Me" reappears.

This music is dedicated to the memory of over 100 British service personnel, who as at June 2008, had died in Afghanistan. Some of the words of "Turn Ye to Me" seem very apt: "Hush'd be thy moaning, lone bird of the sea; Thy home on the rocks is a shelter to thee: Thy home is the angry wave, mine but the lonely grave: Ho-ro Mairi Dhu, Turn Ye to Me."

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Peter Hargreaves. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Peter Hargreaves has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.