In an age where composers are striving to be unique and modern through the use of atonality and odd time signatures, Austin Huang has composed a cello concerto that is refreshingly traditional in harmonic structure. What makes "Chinese Girl" unique is the way the composer brilliantly blends Chinese melody with traditional western harmony. I believe it is worthy of having a solid place in the standard cello repertoire. For the soloist, Austin’s concerto offers technical challenges that may stretch far beyond what has ever been done and can bring even the most masterful performer to another level. Just as Dvorak’s cello concerto presented new exercises in thumb position and bowing techniques, or Haydn’s concerti demanded expertise in scale execution and multiple octave leaps, "Chinese girl" showcases a cello soloist’s ability to hammer out challenging chords and play octave scales and arpeggios with glissandos and up bow staccato techniques just to name a few. The soloist might have to develop calluses on his or her fingers in new places. What might make this concerto most gratifying to both performers and listeners is the triumphant marriage of gorgeous Chinese melodies with standard traditional western harmony. To my knowledge, this is something that has not been done in a cello concerto previously, and is done here to the highest standard of perfection. The slow melodies are so haunting at times that they could possibly bring even the most hardened critic to tears. As a whole, Austin Huang’s cello concerto is the perfect blend of beautiful Chinese melody, exciting displays of technique, and brilliant conversations between orchestra and soloist. One of my favorite moments in the first movement is, after the band introduces the different sections of the work, when the cello soloist makes his or her entrance in the form of a cadenza that demands the highest level of playing. If the audience has not already been captured by the imaginative symphonic introduction, this cadenza, if done well, should certainly win them over. This is also another aspect of the work that is unique and well thought out. Austin has offered us a work that is worthy of exploration and execution. "Chinese Girl" will always be highly recommended by me. Matt Rehfeldt Cello Soloist

"Chinese violinists have the time-honored "Butterfly Lovers Concerto" and Chinese pianists the "Yellow River Concerto", but we do not yet have such a piece for the cello; "Chinese Girl" may just have such prospects! –- Kai Chen, former Principal Cellist of the China National Opera House

" I dare not say this work’s future position in the world, but I can say that it is definitely worth playing. The third section of the first movement particularly has momentum, energy and passion. –- Dr. Roger Briggs, professor of composition, Western Washington University, conductor of Whatcom Symphony Orchestra, Bellingham, Washington, U.S.A.

"Were Chinese Girl composed before the ballet "Red Detachment of Women" was, the ballet’s author probably instead would rather have used the cello and violin duet section that appears in the second movement of this cello concerto. –- Frank Guo, former violinist of the Former China National Orchestra

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Austin Huang. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Austin Huang has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.