Home > Percussion ensemble > The Recovery Suite: 4 Pensive

The Recovery Suite: 4 Pensive

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Classical music
Percussion ensemble
Instrumental parts
Not available

This is the fourth movement of "The Recovery Suite" as commissioned by the Aurora History Museum of Aurora, Colorado for their exhibit on "9/11: The First 24 Hours." "Pensive" depicts the time when loved ones wondered about the safety of someone who might have been lost in the tragedy. The interesting thing is that in addition to the repetitive clock-like note, there is a musical question and answer and regardless of the question, the answer always seems to be the same - just with a different rhythm.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by D. Kenneth Clinton. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com D. Kenneth Clinton has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.