String Quartet no. 2 in c Minor Op. 13, Mvt. 6, Adagio - Allegro

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Modern classical music
String quartet
Instrumental parts
Not available

Movement 6 � Adagio/Allegro The final movement ties the piece together with a collection of themes previously heard in a loose sonata-rondo form. The opening motif from the first movement opens this movement as well. This time the motif is expanded over a highly chromatic harmonic progression, and developed throughout the movement. The theme of the following funeral march was introduced in the middle of the Valse movement, and the accompaniment is recognizable to string players as a derivation of Kreutzer�s 27th Etude (a little joke). The Andante movement theme brings the phrase to a close, as the section abruptly changes gears. The following Allegro runs with another variation of the opening motif. These sections alternate, with additional material from previous movements appearing in new manifestations.

For parts, see complete score.

To see a video performance of this work, check out:

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Darin Templeton. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Darin Templeton has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.