Unknown Species for Four Recorders

Year of composition
Easy (Grades 1-3)
2 minutes
Quartet (Soprano Recorder)
Instrumental parts
Not available

This simple little piece is intended to allow players of varying skill levels to play together in an every expanding group, and not nesaccerily only on recorder. The title comes from the fact it was a revision exercise for me in using species counterpoint.

It is intentional adaptable: With everyone playing together just play through the top parts as they appear (i.e. part one most of the time, but at others part three), for two parts, use parts I and III (an opportunity to teach the class about antiphonal music possibly?), three parts add in part two as a simpler parter for kids who maybe struggling. When you finally want to add a bass instrument use part four.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Alistair Justice. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Alistair Justice has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.