Home > Brass quintet > Recuerdos de la Alhambra - Memories of the Alhambra

Recuerdos de la Alhambra - Memories of the Alhambra

Francisco de asis Tarrega
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Classical music
Brass quintet
Instrumental parts
Not available

This piece features the "Bellaphonium" what’s a Ballaphonium I hear you say. It is a way of getting a trumpet to sound rather like a Mandolin. The Tuba player hold his instrument on its side. The trumpet plays into the bell of the Tuba. The Tuba player rappidly flutters his valves up and down (he does not blow into his instrument) this produces a ever changing length of tube, which when played into produces a mandolin/tremelo effect. I bet you can’t wait to try this can you?

I heard this piece on the radio and thought this would make an ideal piece for the "Bellaphonium"

It would be great to get the odd review. I try to make my piece fun and indeed they are quite popular as far as purchases go, but come on guys tell me your thoughts.

E mail me and I will send you the parts free of charge.

Have fun Chris

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Chris Northey. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Chris Northey has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.