River Lee - in the beginning

page one of River Lee - in the beginning

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

An orchestral piece with acommpanying piano, telling the story of a river in County Cork in Ireland, which eventually reaches the city of Cork and flows through it (Lee River-city journey) into Cork harbour and the Atlantic Ocean. The story begins with droplets of rainfall forming puddles in the Shehy mountains, where a steady gurgling stream joins other streamlets, gathering pace and power as it flows through pastureland. Its power is reduced in a hydroelectric dam at the very picturesque Inniscarra Lake. (Note the 'birsong' here). The reduced river flows steadily on into Cork city where it begins its final jouney at the Western Road bridge, in Sunday's Well, Cork. If anyone knows an orchestra which would be intersted in performing this piece, please let me know. Very little expression has been put into the piece as performance, in my opinion , is needed to adapt to consensual opinion from the conductor.

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
6 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of River Lee - in the beginning

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...