Home > Orchestra > Symphony No 42 Part 3 2nd movt Destruction by Fire

Symphony No 42 Part 3 2nd movt Destruction by Fire

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
14 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

The finale movement of part 3 of this monster 155 minute symphony is entitled Destruction by Fire and is very loud almost throughout. It is probably now scientifically incorrect, but it ends with a big crunch which is an exact retrograde of the opening Big Bang of the symphony. Still, this symphony won’t even be a memory in the billions of years before this may or may not happen, so it’s hardly important, but it does make a musically satisfying way of rounding off such a vast and disparate work! If it weren’t for Douglas Adams I would probably have been finishing Symphony 46 by now!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Derek Bourgeois. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Derek Bourgeois has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.