BRASS BAND - Brandenburg Concerto No.3, 3rd Mvt.

Having decided to arrange the complete Brandenburg Cocerto No.3 for brass band, I feel that this movement is virtually finished. I have tried to maintain the flow of the original, but with compromises. Players whould be aware that this work was originally written for strings, so weighting and articulation of notes has to be emulated rather than literally read. Adding staccato values may, in fact, undermine what Bach intended rather than enhance it. Timpani is optional but is there to support rather than dominate.

N.B. the concerto is now complete (unless there are tweaks to do!). 2nd mvt. may be a wee bit contraversal but I have to add my own touch to something … sometime! Feel free to review!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Tom Donaldson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Tom Donaldson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.