’Before the Storm’

Biljana Krstic
Full details...
page one of ’Before the Storm’

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

I don’t know whether Bilja (Biljana) is keeping up with all her chores, like ironing, cooking, looking after Vanja and Maja, but she’s certainly busy producing more great pieces for piano duet, now that the school holidays have begun!

Pred oluju, as all you Serbian-speakers will know, means ’Before the Storm’ (which Bilja kindly translated for me, as I am learning Serbian only very slowly, via our regular conversations on Skype!)

There is something here which definitely suggests its East European origins, and particularly the 7/8 time signature, which does give it an extra folk-like feel.

Bilja sent me the attached photo, which happened a couple of years back during heavy rains, which caused the River Sava in Belgrade (not far from Bilja’s centrally-located flat) to flood, hence the surfing commuter! As I suggested, this might be all of us soon, if the price of fuel goes up much more - especially here in the UK, where our greedy government looks upon the motorist as an endless source of income, by overtaxing us to the hilt!

PS The dedication to ’Dada’ is to Bilja’s great friend and colleague, Dragana, who passed away suddenly in 2007.

For all the latest information on Bilja, her teaching, and current compositions, please visit her website.

Score ID
Biljana Krstic
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Piano four hands
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for ’Before the Storm’

Reviews of ’Before the Storm’

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...