MANNING, G. - Romance with Double Bass - Opera Buffa in One Act & 5 Scenes. Op.26 - English Libretto by Gerald Manning after the short story by Anton Chekhov - Scenes 1,2,3

Year of composition
Gerald Manning
Difficult (Grades 7+)
35 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

ROMANCE WITH DOUBLE BASS Opera Buffa in One Act & 5 Scenes

English Libretto by Gerald Manning after the short story by Anton Chekhov

The inspiration for this Opera came from the Russian playwright and master of the short story Anton Chekov, who was born in Taganrog, Russia in 1860. The plot centres on the unfortunate musician Pitsikatoff, and the Princess Bibuloff who both lose their apparel while taking a swim, which then triggers off a series of events conducive to the condition in which they find themselves.

Although the work is intended for a production in the opera house, nevertheless, it would also benefit from a concert performance especially when coupled to other one act operas, such as Puccini�s Il Trittico: Il Tabarro, Suor Angelica, and Gianni Schicchi. The libretto and a full set of parts are available on request.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.