The Lone Ar-ranger! (Two Pianos)

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Classical music
Duet (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

Despite the plethora of versions I have been asked to make of The Lone Ar-ranger!, I hadn’t yet got around to one for two pianos - the original concept was for piano (four hands).
Whilst I have naturally used the piano duet version to fashion the new one for two pianos, I have added in a few extra tweaks, filled out the harmony with some occasional counter-melodies, taking on board the greater ease to fit two hands on one piano twice, rather than four hands on the one instrument! Apart from that, I have added no extra ’tunes’, so that it basically reflects every other version I’ve made over the years. It must, however, be played using two pianos - otherwise there are going to be some very sore fingers as you try to fight for the same notes!
Following a number of requests worldwide, I have now uploaded a special non-playing score, which lists, and identifies all the tune fragments used in The Lone Ar-ranger!
Click here for further information.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Philip R Buttall. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Philip R Buttall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.