MANNING, G. - Symphony No. 2 in C minor - Sancti Benedicti Op.28

Year of composition
Tomus Alcuin
Difficult (Grades 7+)
37 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

SYMPHONY NO. 2 IN C MINOR Sancti Benedicti

I. Largo - Allegro II. Chorale - Oratio Sancti Benedicti � Latin Text III. Pastorale � Andante IV. Allegro � Passacaglia Maestoso � Tempo primo

Beethoven probably derived the idea for his Symphony No. 6 in F major �The Pastoral� from a programme-symphony by Justin Knecht, �Le Portrait musical de la nature� (? 1784), which includes a depiction of a beautiful day in the country, a storm and a final hymn of gratitude to the Creator. Although it is not my intention to portray my Second Symphony, in C minor, as a �programme-symphony�, suffice it to say that the inspiration for the work came during a sojourn in Italy when I visited the principal monastery of the Benedictine order at Monte Cassino, located in Latium, central Italy. It was founded by St Benedict of Nursia in c.529 AD, and soon became a place of pilgrimage and universal learning; hence the title attributed to this work.

Symphony No. 2 in C minor (Sancti Benedicti), is in four movements; the second of which is a chorale setting for male voices of the �Oratio Sancti Benedicti� � the Prayer of St Benedict, which appears in the writings of Tomus Alcuin (732-804) and is based on a Gregorian chant in the IV or Hypophrygian mode, and is given here in the Latin text. Gregorian chant originated in Monastic life, in which singing the 'Divine Service' nine times a day at the proper hours was upheld according to the Rule of �St.Benedict�. The fourth movement is in �Ternary� form in which the first and third parts are alike (or almost so), while the second part is an extended �Passacaglia�.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.