Home > String quartet > String Quartet in G Minor

String Quartet in G Minor

Jan Levoslav Bella
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
24 minutes
Classical music
String quartet
Instrumental parts

EN: Bella’s String Quartet in G Minor is the Slovak composer’s earliest known quartet composition. In its musical ideas and their development Bella’s quartet is indebted to the musical language of Viennese classicism, although in the main avoiding its Beethovenian reaches. 23-year-old composer wrote a work of balanced proportions and inventive procedure drawing on an undemonstrative, but fresh, thematic invention. The composition was written for Bella’s own amateur quartet, in which he usually took the viola part.

Composer | Publisher

SK: Bellovo Slacikove kvarteto g mol predstavuje najstarsiu znamu kvartetovu kompoziciu slovenskeho autora. Skladba svojimi hudobnymi ideami a ich rozvijanim nadvazuje na hudobny jazyk viedenskeho klasicizmu, avsak viac-menej sa vyhyba jeho beethovenovskym poloham. 23-rocny autor skomponoval hudobne dielo s vyvazenymi proporciami a duchaplnym dianim, opierajucim sa o nenapadnu, no sviezu, tematicku invenciu. Kompozicia bola napisana pre Bellovo vlastne domace kvarteto, v ktorom hral zvacsa violovy part.

Skladatel | Vydavatel

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Slovak Music Bridge. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Slovak Music Bridge has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.