Suit Suite for Three Euphoniums and Three Tubas

This composition, composed for the Kansas State University Tuba-Euphonium Ensemble, is inspired by the suits of a deck of cards and their associated representations. It is in one continuous movement that is divided into four sections. Spades (death) is a funeral march that uses frequent dotted rhythms, outbursts of anger, and a lyrical, somber descending melody. A change of mood that is accomplished by brightening the harmony leads into Hearts (romance). This section follows a loose AABA form. The A sections contain lyrical lines and lush harmony. The B section is freer in rhythm and represents a dialogue between two lovers. The last measure of this section introduces a dotted rhythm motive that is used throughout the next section, Diamonds (riches). This section is subtitled "riches" instead of "wealth" because "riches" implies money for money's sake rather than the benefits it can buy. It is in the style of a frenzied waltz as if those with the riches are at an elaborate ball totally unaware of the restlessness going on around them. Towards the end of this section, a chromatic line begins to insert itself, suggesting the uprising and war (Clubs) that follows. A flutter-tongued chord transitions the listener into Clubs (war) section. This section begins powerfully with repeated chords resembling people shooting at each other. The shooting motif appears frequently throughout. Different melodic ideas represent the battle between the euphoniums and the tubas. The tide of the battle keeps going back and forth, but nobody actually wins. The piece ends with the sound of death and destruction, therefore starting the cycle of the suits over again.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Sy Brandon. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Sy Brandon has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.