String Quartet #2 - 3rd mvt.

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
String quartet
Instrumental parts
Not available

Well, here is the 3rd mvt. of my 2nd string quartet. I hope you don't mind the few unconventional harmonic placements of the fugal subject. Also, please note that starting in m. 48 the Cello & Viola have a 1 m. ostinato, the 1st Violin has a 4 bar phrase and the 2nd Violin has a 5 bar phrase, each repeated and crossing in different places upon each repetition. This is the final movement of this string quartet and I hope you can see and hear the progression, both intellectually and emotionally from beginning to end.

I composed the whole of this string quartet (all 3 mvts.) in a total of 8 days, and in that whirlwind I experienced, and hopefully successfully expressed, a full range of intense emotions. I hope you enjoy my work.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Jonathan Lunneberg. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Jonathan Lunneberg has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.