Debussy - Girl with the Flaxen Hair

Claude Debussy
Full details...
page one of Debussy - Girl with the Flaxen Hair

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Claude Debussy (1862-1918) wrote his two books of piano Preludes late in life, between 1909 and 1913. The 12 short pieces in each book display a rich variety of styles, moods and emotions � almost a summing up of his compositional output � and each has its own evocative title given by Debussy after the music was completed. In the true meaning of the word �impressionistic� the pieces are intended to fire the imagination of the listener to produce their own images and are not based on pre-existing poems or pictures.

The Girl with the Flaxen Hair is the 8th Prelude in the 1st book and is popular for its emotional depth, despite its technical and harmonic simplicity. We do not know who �The Girl� was, but this beautiful miniature conjures up vivid images in the mind�s eye.

I hope you enjoy this arrangement for brass quintet.

Score ID
Claude Debussy
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Brass quintet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Debussy - Girl with the Flaxen Hair

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...