Full details...
page one of Trombatorium

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

'Trombatorium' was written in late 2007 and completed in January 2008 for the Collaborative Composition Project at Boston University. The three trumpeters are partnered by a piano with whom they converse throughout the piece.

I am indebted to trumpeters Nathan Tighe, Rob Reustle and Michael Sinicropi, and pianist Ling Leng, who performed the premier at the Tsai Centre in Boston in March 2008.

Please email me for individual parts.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Trio of Trumpets in Bb
Modern classical music
Related scores
Monteverdi Vespers - Deus in Adjutorium for Brass Quintet, Missa Papea Marcelli, Italian Concerto for Brass Quintet, Two Arias from Samson & Delilah for Soprano and Brass Quintet, Trumpet Tune & Air (ten-part brass), Toccata from L'Orfeo, Toccata and Fugue in D Minor for Symphonic Brass, The Harmonious Blacksmith for Brass Quintet, Four Arias from 'Carmen' for Soprano & Brass Quintet, Five Ceremonial Fanfares, Fanfares for Natural Trumpet, Fanfares for Four Trumpets, Danny Boy (trombone and piano), Sonata VII for Two Trumpets & Strings, Symphony in C Major for four trumpets and timpani, Contrapunctus 1 from The Art of Fugue, Deo Gratias for Large Brass Choir, Overture from the Easter Oratorio, Concerto in D Minor BWV 1043, Sonata in C Major for String Quartet, Sonata for Eight Trumpets & Strings, Sonata a 6 for natural trumpet & strings, Sonada 1652 for eight trumpets, Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 for Brass Quintet (iii), Concerto in B-flat Op. 5 No. 1, Spem in Alium (eight brass quintets), Sinfonia for 6 trumpets, Ten Easy Christmas Carols for Brass Quintet, Rondo Alla Turca for Brass Quintet, Concerto in A Minor, BWV 1041 for Brass Quintet, Prelude & Fugue BWV 550, Concerto Grosso Op. 6 No. 2 for Brass Quintet, Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 for Brass Quintet (1), Concerto for Three Trumpets & Three Violins, Concerto for Four Trumpets, Possible Worlds (for piano solo), Chaconne for Two Violins & Continuo, Canzona V for Seven Trumpets, Canzona V for Seven Cellos, Passacaglia and Fugue in C Minor for Symphonic Brass, Overture from Cantata BWV 194 for Six Trumpets, Canzona "La Battalia" for Three Brass Quintets, Canons for Trumpets, Pictures at an Exhibition for Symphonic Brass, Aria Della Battaglia, Pictures at an Exhibition for Ten-Part Brass, Abblasen for Four Trumpets, Abblasen for Brass Quintet, Sinfonia from Cantata BWV 29 for Brass Quintet and Organ, Ronde and Variations for String Quartet and Four Preludes and Fugues from the Well-Tempered Clavier (Book One) for Brass Quintet

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Trombatorium

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...