:030 Opus: The Christ Child

(orig. Chtíc aby spal)

Adam Vaclav Michna z Otradovic d. 1676
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Adam Vaclav Michna z Otradovic d.1676
Easy (Grades 1-3)
2 minutes
Choir + keyboard
Instrumental parts

2017 Christmas special . . . for a limited time you can purchase this score at a 25% discount on the regular list price, normally $3.95 now until the end of the year only 2.95!

Updated for the 2011 Christmas season to add handbells. This is a simple arrangement of Chtíc aby spal - aka Vánoční noc - by Adam Vaclav Michna z Otradovic, a 17th century composer. The arrangement takes into consideration choirs with limited technical ability.

Some performance options include performing it as written with the choir joining in on the repeat. Additionally it may be performed by soloists only. I recommend a male voice for the first iteration then a female voice for the second essay; joining together for the final phrase. Or (and preferably) a children’s choir can take the tune each time, adding the choir the second time through.

Note: regarding the handbells, they should play the introduction then remain silent until the first ending. And then follow the score on the repeat.

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: for sales to continue to be viable for the independent publisher with ScoreExchange’s ’multiple print for one price’ sales’ policy, we have had to increase our asking price. We will continue to offer discounted pricing offline. Feel free to contact the publisher directly with your requests.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Joseph Virgilio. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Joseph Virgilio has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.