Christmas in the Peaks

T. Jarman
Full details...
page one of Christmas in the Peaks

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This a selection of 3 tunes. First is T. Jarman's tune "Lyngham" (or Nativity) which is usually used with Wesley's words "O for a thousand tongues to sing My Redeemer's praise .." The second tune is known in Derbyshire as "Hark What means" and is a carol from the Eyam area. It is believed to have been composed by the American William Batchelder Banbury (1816-1868):

"Hark, what means those holy voices sweetly sounding through the skies? Lo! th'angelic host rejoices, Heavenly hallelujahs rise. Hear them tell the wondrous story, Hear them chant their hymns of joy! Glory in the highest, glory, Glory to the God most high."

Finally is another Derbsyhire tune "Curly Hark" to which the words of Hark the Herald Angels Sing are used. The composer is unknown though, again, the tune originated in the Eyam area. At rehearsal mark D various parts are cued in. This will enable to band to get different players involved.

If desired the tunes could be played separately.

Score ID
T. Jarman
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Concert band / wind band

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

You might also like...