Opus 20 Orchestral Suite No 1 4th Movement

One Halloween Night

page one of Opus 20 Orchestral Suite No 1 4th Movement

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Opus 20 Symphony No. 1, 4th (Final) Movement � �One Halloween Night��

This movement (duration 13min 30sec) is in the form of a �mixed style tone poem�. It is a fanciful tale, intended to conjur up ghostly scenes, on Halloween night, of those lost at sea over the centuries. They rise from the depths adorned in the garments of their times and �do what they will?� above and on the sea shores under the eerie glow of the moon and stars, before finally returning to the depths.

Page 17, bar 118�Ghostly buccaneers from the Spanish Main appear. Page 18, bar 127�Dark, silver-lined clouds eerily scud across the black, star and moonlit sky. Page 19, bar 135�A stunning ghostly frigate rises into the sky. Bar 137�Look ashore my lads � see the imposing mountains of Scotland. Page 20, bar 143�Freedom is sailing out at sea my lads! Page 25, bar 171�The ghostly throng of races mix, to-night they�ll feast, and play their tricks� Page 32, bar 220�A scene of frenzied chaos begins to emerge� Page 35, bar 246�The toll of bells signals the return to the murky depths of the sea as the ghostly souls show their frightful shapes� Page 36, bar 261�The march to the depths of the restless ocean is seen, a black curtain drawn, thus ends Halloween�

Score ID
Year of composition
Trevor Kirby-Smith
Difficult (Grades 7+)
14 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Opus 20 Orchestral Suite No 1 4th Movement

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...