Home > Piano four hands > Sirtaki - ’Memories of Cyprus’ (Piano Duet)

Sirtaki - ’Memories of Cyprus’ (Piano Duet)

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
World music
Piano four hands
Instrumental parts
Not available

In September 2008, Dad and I decided to take our holiday in Cyprus, after thoroughly enjoying the previous year’s in Malta. Both venues are good for us in the South West, as we can fly from Exeter, and avoid all the hassle of Heathrow or Gatwick.

We had a lovely hotel in Paphos, the Pioneer Beach Hotel, where everything was just excellent. We had lovely weather every day, wall-to-wall sunshine, and with our dear little hire-car, we managed to see a great deal of this lovely island.

The hotel food was outstanding, and on a couple of evenings each week, we ate outside overlooking the beach, after which there was entertainment. Needless to say, one evening it was traditional Greek/Cypriot dancing, with the inevitable Zorba’s Dance!

I still find this type of dance exciting, so once back home, set about writing my own dance - in traditional Sirt�ki style - i.e. a slow section followed by a quick section which gradually accelerates to an exhilarating finish - which will hopefully remind us (and listeners!) of our lovely time on the island.

I chose to write it for piano duet, as this allows greater opportunity for counter-melodies etc. Whilst it ends in the same key as Zorba, I have tried not to copy anything from the original except, perhaps the style, adding in some modal harmonies to ’spice things up’!

P.S. The dedication is to Mirka, one of the lovely waitresses in the restaurant. Most of them were from various European countries, and Mirka was from Slovakia. I believe she is leaving the hotel in November 2008 to work elsewhere in Europe, with her partner.

P.P.S. I don’t get any commission, of course, but if you’re looking for a great hotel in Paphos (adults only, I’m afraid), then you’d fine the Pioneer Beach Hotel hard to beat!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Philip R Buttall. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Philip R Buttall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.