Sing and Play Intervals - 1

Year of composition
Easy (Grades 1-3)
3 minutes
Rock and Pop Music
Instrumental parts
Not available

The object of this exercise is to train our ears and brains to work with our hands! Although this is something I wrote as an exercise for guitar and bass it will work for any instrument except brass or wind (unless you can sing and play like that guy in Jethro Tull) This is useful for developing a sense of pitch and playing by ear. In this first example the rhythm is really simple to enable focus on the scale. First section sets out the scale, play it as an echo both times. After that there are three repeats of the piece: First time sing the echoes. Second time play the echoes. Third time sing and play. It is good practice to vary the tempo and to transpose to all major keys. I have written it in C to accommodate most voices!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Lisa Marie Gabriel. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Lisa Marie Gabriel has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.