Home > Quartet > Scherzo


Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

Unusually for the composer, this Scherzo is based on a twelve-tone row, where all twelve chromatic notes within the octave are treated thematically. This thematic idea was the basis of an assignment for the composer’s Master Degree. Written in 2004, the Scherzo is in ternary form with a short introductory section that builds up the theme in the strings, with interruptions from the piano. Whereas the outer parts of the ternary structure are rhythmically complex, mainly based on irregular time-signatures, the central section is more rhythmically stable and uses an ostinato pattern and a ’singing’ melody (cantabile).

This piece won a composition prize in the 2005 Thames Valley University competition for a piece for Piano Quartet.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Malcolm Dedman. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Malcolm Dedman has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.