String Quartet No.2 in B flat major

Full details...
page one of String Quartet No.2 in B flat major

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Here are the first two movements of my 2nd string quartet.

The first movement began with a sketch of the intro in late October and was completed over a span of around a month. The second movement began early December and was completed in under 2 weeks.

The intro of the first movement opens with a 'signature cluster' that moves directly into the first thematic material. A distinct dotted rhythmic motif is introduced, followed by a short transition that leads directly to a secondary motif (variation of the notes of the cluster). The movement adds an element of using the circle of fifths, disregarding the quality of the intervals, most audible in the solo pizzicato passage. As the thematic material develops, it comes to a waltz section…a variation of the first motif. The rest of the movement reiterates, contracts and expands on the material, but fragments and isolates and concentrates on the most important motifs.

The 2nd movement is a free fantasia, drawing upon the introductory material of the first movement. The central portion of the movement is an polytonal fugato, framed by two solos, one for the First Violin, the latter for the Cello. The movement fades out with the opening gestures, descending in register, disappearing with the low end of the cello.

Two more movements are planned.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
19 minutes
String quartet
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of String Quartet No.2 in B flat major

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...