O little town of Bethlehem

Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
String quartet
Instrumental parts

This is an arrangement of the hymn tune Forest Green, to which the carol O Little Town of Bethlehem is often sung (on one side of the Atlantic, at least), for violin trio and bass. The third violin part could be transcribed for a viola, as long as he/she isn't afraid of third position (no viola jokes here!). The bass part could be played just on stringed instruments (cello with or without double bass), but should ideally have an organ playing the chords which are figured. During the verses the organist should play the harmonisation of the tune by Vaughan Williams, which is found in most hymn books. This arrangement has been used to accompany a congregation singing the carol, but they probably need to be led by a confident choir, otherwise the beginnings of the verses may be too uncertain. This arrangement may have been brought on by a surfeit of Bach.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Peter Foster. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Peter Foster has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.