Severity - 1. Allegro molto

Full details...
page one of Severity - 1. Allegro molto

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This work was begun on December 3, 2008 and completed a week later. It is my second work to be allocated an opus number, the first being the Piano Trio (written in August 2008 and premiered in October in the same year at a school competition). Originally titled "First String Quartet", it strongly contrasts to the trio in terms of its emotional content and harmonic language which is significantly harsher. I chose the title "Severity" in favour of the original name for several reasons - firstly because of the concern that the title "string quartet" tends to carry too much baggage, being labelled within the genre that such composers as Haydn through to Bartok and Simpson mastered; secondly because the piece is only ten minutes long in total within a simple form that hardly exhausts the possibilities available in the basic material and, thirdly, because the new title carries a special significance to the conception of the piece and works within it on several levels. On one level, its character is uncompromisingly harsh and unpleasant - the harmonies are consistently dissonant and rough and no respite is offered until the final bars of the piece, even then solely because the energy has been exhausted. On another level, the treatment and nature of the material is of a rigour and sternness as though to favour intellectual strictness without compromise, undoubtedly leading to a degree of austereness (which can be sensed to an extent in the piano trio as well).

The first movement, Allegro molto, begins with the trading between the four instruments of the interval of a minor ninth, building up an important harmony which then squashes into itself as the parts move in contrary motion by semitones. These first three bars contain the substance of all the material used in all the movements. At figure A a running passage is introduced - a motivic idea based on the semitone movement of the opening bars which appears constantly throughout the work. The two basic elements outlined - minor 9ths and contrary motion movement by the semitone - dominate the whole of the first movement. At figure B the semitone figure rises and at figure C a simple rising and falling figure is introduced, still based on the opening material, that gains greater significance in its form later on.

At figure D the texture changes to become more subdued where fragments of the main theme are scattered, following by a scurrying tower of minor 9ths, the interval that dominates virtually all of the harmony during the piece, at figure E. A sudden build up leads to a brief but ferocious statement of the material at figure F which quickly subsides. The next few phrases act as a build up to a sort of recapitulation of the opening gesture at figure J. The most aggressive stage of the movement appears at letter K with the appearance of harsh double stopped chords. At letter M the theme attempts to recover itself but fails as the music is drawn home by a furious crescendo.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
String quartet
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Related scores

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Severity - 1. Allegro molto

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...