The Lone Ar-ranger! [TUNE-LIST]

Year of composition
Not applicable (e.g. worksheet)
3 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

STOP PRESS: I'm sure that, like fellow-Sibelius Music composer, and Sibelius Software demonstrator, Martin Thomson, you will all have noted my unfortunate error, when identifying the final snippet! It is indeed by Sibelius - the Finnish composer, that is! - but not his Finlandia, but from his Karelia Suite! Many apologies for my typo!nnnThere are so many versions of The Lone Ar-ranger!, and I am quite often asked how many different tunes there are, and what some of them are!
nI have prepared this basic outline - it is not intended as a Performing Score (hence its nominal cost, and the absence of dynamics, articulation marks, and some 'hidden' pitches, for reasons of copyright) - so that the identity and position of each tune fragment is hopefully still clear. Often people have set this as some kind of competition during and after a performance, though I doubt whether it would be possible to count and identify every tune on one hearing alone!
nI hope this will help in the future!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Philip R Buttall. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Philip R Buttall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.