The Snow Queen after Hans Christian Andersen (for Orchestra)

Full details...
page one of The Snow Queen after Hans Christian Andersen (for Orchestra)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

"The Snow Queen" is a symphonic poem for orchestra inspired by the story of the same name by Hans Christian Andersen. It was written as incidental music to my daughter's school production in Switzerland. In this version, it is concert ready with parts which may also be printed.

The evil Snow Queen lures the young boy Kay to stay with her at her icy home in the most northern part of Finland (Lapland). Gerda, Kay's best friend, takes it upon herself to find him. She meets a princess and prince (who she thought might be Kay), an old woman who shows her a wonderful garden, a robber girl with a flying reindeer, and two women from Finland and Lapland. In the music one can hear the Snow Queen represented by a rather agressive theme in the low instruments. The great hall of the Snow Queen's Palace is represented in the middle of the symphonic poem. Voices (singing "ah") are used to add colour to the "icy" part of the piece.

Gerda succeeds in finding her friend, sneaking him away from the Snow Queen who had left Kay alone and frightened. They make their way back home but not before saying goodbye to the friends who helped them. Melodic material representing each of the characters is brought back to accomplish a sense of closure to the form.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
12 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of The Snow Queen after Hans Christian Andersen (for Orchestra)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...