Ludwig van Beethoven was crucial in the transition between the Classical and Romantic eras and remains one of the best loved and influential composers of all time. He has always been my favourite and this finds him in wistful mood!

Ah but…. I hear you say….

There is doubt in academic circles as to whether or not he actually "Gertrude's Dream Waltz" as it is a waltz and doesn't fit with Beethoven's other compositions at the time. It is unknown in what year it was composed, although it was published in 1852 by Schuberth in Leipzig, Germany.

Come on folks…. Beethoven was pioneering and pushing the boundaries of music his whole life and was capable of any musical experiment he chose! I certainly prefer to think of Beethoven in a wistful mood penning this for some society lady he liked….

My version is about grade 6/7 level, so playable for many good guitarists. I transposed it from the original B flat to accommodate the wide range you would expect from a piano solo and I altered the time signature to 3/4 from 3/8 for simplicity. Other than that I have remained reasonably close to the accepted version within the parameters of what the guitar can achieve and still sound musical!

If you wish to avoid page turns, parts are available as separate TAB and notation….

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Lisa Marie Gabriel. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Lisa Marie Gabriel has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.