Adagio Lamentoso - In Memoriam September 11th 2001

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Organ [manuals])
Instrumental parts
Not available

Since publishing this piece a year ago, I have had the opportunity to work with Philip Bailey, a fellow Sibelius user and organ enthusiast par excellence, as he prepared to give the work its first public performance in November 2002.

Following that performance, I published an arrangement of Adagio Lamentoso for chamber string orchestra and have now incorporated some of the changes I made in the arrangement in this updated version for organ. Besides the addition of a couple of bars towards the close of the work, I have altered some of the metronome markings. Philip has kindly provided suggested registrations throughout the piece, which I am happy to endorse having heard them in practice.

A second performance Philip Bailey of this work will be given at a lunchtime recital on 20th May 2003 as part of the Brighton Festival, alongside pieces by Britten, Parry, Herbert Sumsion and Koichi Horie. My sincere thanks again to Philip for championing this piece.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Cedric Peachey. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Cedric Peachey has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.