La Guerra de España: No. 2. Bolero

Full details...
page one of La Guerra de España: No. 2. Bolero

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Bolero is the first of four interlude dances and occurs between the 1st and 2nd movements of "La Guerra de Espa�a," a tone poem for piano. My plan is to eventually score it as a ballet with dialogue.

Point in the story:

The first and second movements underscore the development of La Reconquista, beginning with the early Moorish invasions in 711 C.E. and the Caliphate of Cordova, c. 981 C.E. The majority of the story is set in 1212 C.E., the year of the Battle of Las Navas de Tolosa. The Bolero is set in 1212 C.E., in Toledo.

A Castilian soldier has been given the task of standing guard over a captured Moorish princess. Bringing the young woman food, he is mesmerized by her beauty. Realizing this opportunity as a means of escape, the princess seduces the soldier into dancing a bolero with her. He instantly falls in love with the princess and vows to one day free her from her imprisonment.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Solo instrument (Piano)
World music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of La Guerra de España: No. 2. Bolero

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...