Prelude and Fugue in A minor, BWV 894 (brass quintet)

J.S. Bach
Full details...
page one of Prelude and Fugue in A minor, BWV 894 (brass quintet)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Originally written for keyboard by the young Bach in 1708 (BWV 894), he returned to this work in later life, in 1730, to rework it as the first and last movements of a triple concerto for Flute, Violin and Harpsichord (BWV 1044). Although evidently a work of his younger years, this piece bristles along with an energy and verve which mark it out from other works that surround it chronologically. The fugue is one of the proverbially "rollicking" fugues a la gigue, in a lively 12/16 throughout. The writing keeps all parts interested, and much care should be paid to the dovetailing effects between different instruments.

Score ID
J.S. Bach
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
9 minutes
Brass quintet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Prelude and Fugue in A minor, BWV 894 (brass quintet)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...