Piano Trio - ’Trilogy of Universal Gifts’

Full details...
page one of Piano Trio - ’Trilogy of Universal Gifts’

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Written in 2010, this Piano Trio is in three movements which focus in turn on three Universal Gifts to mankind, namely Gift of Life, Gift of Light and Gift of Love.

The first movement expresses life from physical birth to physical death. The sections at the start and end of this movement treat birth and death as fundamentally the same, for the composer considers death to be merely a re-birth into a new existence. In between is a contrasting energetic section, describing the challenges of life itself, both good and bad. Our emotional and intellectual qualities are also expressed in this section.

The second movement represents a mosaic of different colours of light. Although it could represent physical light, it should also remind us of Divine Light; the Light that guides us through our life; the Light we should attract when we pray and meditate.

The third movement is a slow expression of the beautiful Gift of Love, described by means of long flowing melodies on the two string instruments and drawn out chords in the piano. A short central section presents a flowing ostinato against phrases derived from the opening section. Indeed, thematic material from all three movements can be traced to the opening theme of the first movement, showing a sense of unity between these three gifts.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
19 minutes
Piano trio
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Piano Trio - ’Trilogy of Universal Gifts’

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...