11. The Valley of Unity Part 3: Behold A Thousand Claws of Envy

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts
Not available

In this text Bah�’u’ll�h alludes to the suffering that he endured from the harsh response to his claim and message by the leaders of religion in his native land. A solo soprano tenderly gives voice to the lament of the "divine nightingale" while the choir gives voice to the cruel "birds of prey".

The accompaniment was written for violin and cello, but I never worked the parts well for those instruments. Thus I characterized my first submission of the piece to SibeliusMusic to be for Voice and Piano. In this new arrangement I have extended and revised the accompaniment to make the music truly be for Mixed Ensemble: Solo Soprano, Choir, Violin and Cello.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by John Thomas Higgins. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com John Thomas Higgins has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.